January 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31


Browse Full Calendar

Annual Gala

2015 Gala Photo 12015 Gala Photo 22015 Gala Photo 3

Since 1986, the National Building Museum has presented its Honor Award to leaders who shaped America’s heritage, defined its culture, developed its communities, and crafted its built environment. Individually, they advanced the building arts and sciences. Collectively, their legacy is profound. 

Each year’s celebration brings together the full spectrum of those in the building industry as well as cultural, corporate, and political leaders from around the country and raises critical support for the Museum's acclaimed exhibitions, youth education initiatives, public programs and family festivals. This gala is the Museum's largest fundraiser of the year and a celebration not only of the Honor Award recipients' accomplishments, but also of the Museum's unique educational mission.

For more information about the Gala and sponsorship opportunities, please contact the director of development events by email or 202.272.2448.

Media Sponsor:

Washingtonian 2016 Gala Sponsor


2016 Honorees

Andrew Florance and the CoStar Group

CoStar Group, Inc. logo

CoStar Group is the number one provider of mission critical information, analytics and marketing services for the entire commercial real estate industry.  Combining people and technology in an unparalleled platform, along with their commitment to excellence and services that deliver better communication, more transparency and increased efficiency, has made CoStar one the most innovative growth companies in the world.


James G. Davis and DAVIS Construction

Davis Construction

Local Vision. National Recognition. Founded in 1966 and driven by trust, integrity and excellence in service, DAVIS has cemented its legacy as a construction and community leader by creating a company and culture that demonstrates these core values every day. 

Celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, DAVIS continues to lead the building industry through its expertise, innovation, and unequivocal commitment to excellence. From delivering award-winning construction projects across 10 market sectors within the Capital Region, to providing pro bono services and support that affects real change in the local community - DAVIS doesn’t just build buildings, they build partnerships.


Mark Buscaino, Maisie Hughes and Casey Trees

Casey Trees

Casey Trees was established in 2002 to: Restore, Enhance and Protect the Tree Canopy of the Nation’s Capital.  Since 2002 Casey Trees has planted over 20,000 trees; educated thousands of residents about the importance of urban tree canopy; supported the tree planting efforts of the D.C. Government, the National Parks Service, community groups and residents alike; advocated for green, tree friendly development, and; worked with DC’s leaders to set a tree canopy goal of 40% to be attained by the year 2032.  

Past Recipients

2016 CoStar Group, DAVIS Construction, and Casey Trees
2015 The Rockefeller Foundation, STUDIOS Architecture, and
Capital Bikeshare
2014 Mrs. Laura Bush and the National Trust for Historic Preservation
2013 Turner Construction Company
2012 Urban Land Institute
2011 Celebrating our Past, Building our Future

A Salute to Civic Innovators:
Perkins + Will
U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon
New Orleans Habitat Musicians Village
Majora Carter

2009 A Salute to Visionaries in Sustainability:
U.S. Green Building Council
City of Chicago
United Technologies Corporation
2008 The Associated General Contractors of America
2007 Related
2006 Clark Construction Group, LLC
2005 Forest City Enterprises
2004 General Services Administration
2003 Major League Baseball and The National Football League
2002 DuPont
2001 Michael D. Eisner and The Walt Disney Company
2000 Gerald D. Hines
1999 Harold W. McGraw, Jr., Harold McGraw III and The McGraw-Hill Companies
1998 Stephen and Riley Bechtel and The Bechtel Group
1997 Community Builders of Washington, D.C.:
Morris Cafritz, Charles E. Smith, Charles A. Horsky, and Oliver T. Carr, Jr.
1996 Cindy and Jay Pritzker
1995 Lady Bird Johnson
1994 James A. Johnson and Fannie Mae
1993 J. Carter Brown
1992 The Civic Leadership of Greater Pittsburgh
1991 The Rockefeller Family
1990 IBM Corporation
1989 Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan
1988 James W. Rouse
1986 J. Irwin Miller

Past Programs

      Urban Land Institute
March 15, 2012

      Celebrating our Past, Building our Future
May 17, 2011

      A Salute to Civic Innovators
May 11, 2010

      Visionaries in Sustainability
June 4, 2009