February 2017

1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28


Browse Full Calendar

Awards & Honors

 The National Building Museum awards three internationally recognized prizes annually for achievements in the building arts and sciences.

The Spring Gala
Photo by Paul Morigi

The Museum created the Honor Award in 1986 to recognize individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to our nation’s building heritage. This award is bestowed each year at the Museum's Spring Gala. Honor Award recipients are leaders who have defined our culture, developed our communities, and crafted our built environment. Individually, they have advanced our building arts and sciences. Past recipients include Cindy and Jay Pritzker, Michael D. Eisner and The Walt Disney Company, Clark Construction Group, LLC, and Related.





2007 Vincent Scully Prize awarded to Richard Moe
Photo by Paul Morigi

The Vincent Scully Prize and endowment were established by the National Building Museum in 1999 to recognize exemplary practice, scholarship, or criticism in architecture, historic preservation, and urban design. The National Building Museum honored Vincent Scully himself with the first Vincent Scully Prize in 1999. The prize grew rapidly in international prominence with the selection of laureates known for their advocacy of thoughtful urban spaces and historic preservation, exemplary practice of planning and design, commentary on design in contemporary life, and promotion of traditional arts in architecture.




2010 Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation Construction Awarded to Engineers Without Borders-USA
Photo by Anne McDonough

The Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction is named after the founder of Turner Construction Company, which was established in 1902 in New York City. The prize recognizes an invention, an innovative methodology, and/or exceptional leadership by an individual or team of individuals in construction technology including construction techniques, innovations and practices, project management, and engineering design. The Turner Construction Company established an endowment in 2001 to support the prize, which carries a cash award of $25,000.