February 2017

1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28


Browse Full Calendar

Speaker Bios

Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr.: Inspirations for the 21st Century


Cathy Deino Blake
Cathy Deino Blake, ASLA, LEED, is Associate Director of the Stanford University Planning and Design Office.
Julie Cain
As Stanford University’s Historic Preservation Planner, Julie Cain researches and evaluates buildings and landscapes on campus that are older than 50 years.
Ethan Carr
Ethan Carr, Phd, FASLA, is an associate professor of landscape architecture at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He is a landscape historian and preservationist specializing in public landscapes, particularly municipal and national park planning and design.
Milton Chen
Dr. Milton Chen is senior fellow and executive director, emeritus at The George Lucas Educational Foundation.
Jon Christensen
Jon Christensen is an adjunct assistant professor, journalist-in-residence and senior researcher in the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, the California Center for Sustainable Communities, the Department of History, and the Center for Digital Humanities at the University of California, Los Angeles.
William Deverell
William Deverell is Director of the Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West and Chair of the History Department at the University of Southern California.
Robert Doyle
Robert E. Doyle is General Manager of the East Bay Regional Park District (EBRPD) in the San Francisco Bay area.
Carolyn Finney
Carolyn Finney, Ph.D. is a writer, performer and cultural geographer. As a professor in Environmental Science, Policy and Management at the College of Natural Resources at the University of California, Berkeley, she explores how issues of difference impact participation in decision-making processes designed to address environmental issues.
Elizabeth Goldstein
Elizabeth Goldstein has been president of the California State Parks Foundation since June of 2004.
Christopher Hawthorne
Christopher Hawthorne has been the architecture critic for The Los Angeles Times since fall 2004.
Greg Hise
For two decades Greg Hise has been studying urbanization and urban life in North America.
Sam Hodder
Sam Hodder joined the Save the Redwoods League as President and CEO in 2013.
Anthony L. Jackson
Major General Anthony L. Jackson is the 19th director of California State Parks.
Christine Edstrom O'Hara
Christine O’Hara is on the advisory boards for the Dana Adobe in Nipomo, CA, California Garden and Landscape History Society, as well as trustee of the National Association for Olmsted Parks.
William Rogers
William Rogers is the president and CEO of The Trust for Public Land.
David Sloane
David Sloane is a professor in the Price School of Public Policy at the University of Southern California.
Lucas St. Clair
Lucas St. Clair was born in Dover-Foxcroft, Maine and spent his childhood in a simple, hand-built log cabin learning to live in harmony with nature.
Frederick Steiner
Frederick Steiner is the dean of the School of Architecture and Henry M. Rockwell Chair in Architecture at The University of Texas at Austin.
Tjiska Van Wyk
Prior to accepting the position of Executive Director for Valley of the Moon Historical Association, Tjiska Van Wyk has led efforts to raise funds for multi-million dollar budgets supporting local, regional and national non-profit organizations.
David Zuckermann
David Zuckermann is Supervising Naturalist for the East Bay Regional Park District, a 2-county special district in California.