February 2017

1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28


Browse Full Calendar

For Immediate Release: April 30, 2008
Media Contact: Marketing and Communication Department

2008 Honor Award AGC: Media Advisory

A Salute to the Associated General Contractors of America



Announcement of 2008 Honor Award

The National Building Museum will present its 2008 Honor Award to The Associated General Contractors of America (AGC), the oldest and largest organization of contractors in the United States, and its nationwide network of Chapters in recognition of their leadership in shaping, defining and advancing the construction industry for 90 years. The exclusive gala on June 4, 2008, which will be held in the Museum’s historic Great Hall, is expected to attract industry leaders in construction, development, architecture, and engineering, as well as leaders from both state and federal government,. AGC President Douglas E. Barnhart (CEO/Chairman, Barnhart Inc., San Diego, California) and AGC Chief Executive Officer Stephen E. Sandherr will accept the award. The evening will include tributes from Norbert Young, president of McGraw-Hill Construction, and other speakers from industry and government.

AGC and its Chapters are being honored for their work building America’s quality of life and promoting construction excellence, including safety, through training, advocacy, and the dissemination of best practices to contractors nationwide. AGC and its Chapters have been effective advocates for the construction industry at the local, state, and federal levels, promoting investment, training, and general advancement of the field. The Honor Award also recognizes AGC’s commitment to work force and career development and the educational resources the association provides for all career levels in the construction industry.

The National Building Museum’s Honor Award was instituted in 1986 to recognize individuals and organizations that have made important contributions to our nation’s built environment. Recipients are selected annually from a wide variety of backgrounds to call attention to the many factors that determine the form and quality of our built world. Past Honor Award recipients include Related, Michael D. Eisner and The Walt Disney Company, Major League Baseball and The National Football League, Clark Construction Group, and Cindy and Jay Pritzker.


Wednesday, June 4, 2008

VIP event begins at 6:00 pm
Reception at 7:00 pm                                                          


Contact Tasha Passarelle, tpassarelle@nbm.org, 202.272.2448, ext. 3112 or visit the 2008 Honor Award web page.

For information about the Associated General Contractors of America, contact Kelley Keeler at keelerk@agc.org.


The National Building Museum, created by an act of Congress in 1980, is a private, nonprofit institution that examines and interprets achievements in building through exhibitions, education programs, and publications. Public inquiries: 202.272.2448 or visit www.www.nbm.org.

The Associated General Contractors of America is the largest and oldest national construction trade association in the United States. AGC represents 33,000 firms, including 7,500 of America’s leading general contractors and 12,500 specialty-contracting firms. More than 13,000 service providers and suppliers are associated with AGC through a nationwide network of chapters. Visit www.agc.org for more information. AGC members are “Building Your Quality of Life.”


The National Building Museum is America’s leading cultural institution dedicated to advancing the quality of the built environment by educating people about its impact on their lives. Through its exhibitions, educational programs, online content, and publications, the Museum has become a vital forum for the exchange of ideas and information about the world we build for ourselves. Public inquiries: 202.272.2448 or visit www.nbm.org. Connect with us on Twitter: @BuildingMuseum and Facebook.

Get National Building Museum news.